The Faroe Islands are an archipelago between the Norwegian Sea and the North Atlantic Ocean, approximately halfway between Norway and Iceland and to the north of the United Kingdom.
Between 1035 and 1814, the Faroe Islands were part of the Kingdom of Norway. The 1814 Treaty of Kiel granted Denmark control over the islands, along with two other Norwegian regions: Greenland and Iceland. The Faroe Islands have been a self-governing country within the Danish Realm since 1948.
I visited them in August 2009, travelling to Tórshavn, Klaksvík, Runavík, and Sørvágur.
View from Tórshavn FortHiking from Tórshavn to KirkjubøurLeaving Tórshavn behindLakes and sheep along the trailReynsmúlalágHesturLooking across Hestsfjørður towards KolturThe village of KirkjubøurSaint Olav's ChurchCape EnnibergViðareiðiWaterfall near Cape EnnibergViðareiðiFugloy